Hospitals, who likes them?

Life, for all, is not easy. You don’t get to see the real world and the problem people have unless you to the places they prevail. The 1 like = 1 prayer posts in Facebook aren’t going to let you know the pain people have. Those likes buttons you click aren’t going to do anything for the pity one in the picture and you won’t know the pain in life seeing that picture. To learn about life, one needs to have a great deal of experience with it and sometimes, you are already in the edge. Life is unpredictable, as I have seen in these three night I had to spend at the Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital.

Three days back, my uncle arrived Kathmandu on a Tata Sumo. He had liver problems caused by alcohol and my brothers were doing all they can since a few years past to get him rid of the habit. Their dedication never worked. He never was willing to stop drinking and even after knowing that he’s near the age and might slip off if he doesn’t stop drinking, he never did. The day he reached Kathmandu, he was barely speaking and couldn’t even walk properly. My cousin went to receive him and seeing his condition, hospital was the only place to go that day. My cousin brother admitted his father in the Tribhuwan University Teaching Hospital and immediately after getting the news, I rushed to its doors.

I never had clear memories of being in the hospital. I was never admitted and nor were any member of my family previously. I wish they live long, I just wish they cross the century mark. I never even encountered a person who had to spend months in hospital due to illness and body disorders. I was glad that I didn’t have to. Hospitals, I just hate them. Who doesn’t? Who likes to be sleeping in the floor watching the drop of blood in the bottle? Who wants to be in the steel bed where hundreds have already laid. This was my first recallable memory of the hospital  and the things I saw there, I think Buddha was no fool to leave his palace and go for the search of cures. Had I been in his place, I would have done the same.

Just in a few hours, I saw a paralysed person, a girl of my age with completely damaged kidneys, a girl slightly older than me with kidney problem so intense that her voice is possible shut for lifetime. C’mon, how are the kidneys and vocal related. That seems like I’m making things up. Well, I don’t care what you think. I saw a person with nothing but bones in the body but an inflated stomach. My cousin Atish has the largest stomach due to obesity. The patient I saw there, his belly was at least two times bigger than that and his hands were almost a third in size of mine. Believe me, I’m really thin. This guy in the hospital, he is the thinnest person I’ve ever seen. That’s not all, there was a boy who looked perfectly fine but was admitted for 15 days already. He had a fever and its the fifteenth day of it. One moment, he was fine, talking with his friend and the next, he was shaking and was suffering from a 105 F degree fever. Fifteen minutes later, he was again smiling and looked perfectly fine. That’s only a part of what I saw there. There were countless such and everyone had their misery. The hospital, the largest in the country and with the most number of doctors and nurses cannot manage time for the patients. There are literally thousands of patients there and each one of them has something that’s possibly incurable elsewhere in the country.

Leave a Reply

