That one book I wished not to end

It was already been a few months that I didn’t read a book seriously. Finally, I managed to get hands on one which was shared by a friend of mine on Facebook. Since it had mentions of journey to college and particularly NYUAD, the book immediately grabbed my attention. At first, I wanted to my hands on the book only because of the NYUAD name and because the friend mentioned it would be a good and interesting read to those applying for undergraduate studies. I fell in that category and with interest on learning more about the process and getting to more about the Abu Dhabi campus of The New York University, I clicked the link given with the hope of downloading it and devouring everything bits of useful information there. To my surprise, the link redirected me to Amazon and there was a price tag of $4.99 which shattered my hopes on learning more about the college for a few minutes until I discovered that I could read a ” Free Sample Copy” of the book. With a lot in eagerness, I clicked the ” Click here to read a sample copy button” and started my 22 page read of the book I was interested in from the start.

The first 22 pages, the high school experience of a student Michael Ttappous, were interested. He was somehow similar to how I used to be in my high school days and the “Journey to NYAUD title ” written by someone of similar caliber and interest added more hopes to my fading willingness to apply to that college I had been planning to since a year back. Reading the sample copy, I somehow felt as if I’m reading a book about my own high school, the only difference being he is thousands of miles far away from me and our A-Levels subject combinations being slightly different. Quickly, I finished with the sample copy and my mind demanded more of that book. Without wasting any time, I navigated to my friend’s profile seeing the link to Michael’s Facebook profile and asking him a copy of the book. He, at that time being in Cyprus, it was not possible for me to get a hardcopy of that book. I needed that book anyhow and I didn’t have means to pay the $4.99 tagline even if I wanted to. Our debit cards don’t work in online transactions.

Somebody said that humbleness and respect leads you farther than you can imagine. Navigating through pages of that book, Michael, the author of the book had gain my respect and I was humble enough to make him believe that I really wanted to read his book. Due to my requests and of course, his generosity, he threw the price tag for three days on Amazon so that I could take my time to download the book and still have some time if something wrong occurred in the process. Michael, I really want to thank you for providing me with the free copy of the book and keeping the book for free because I requested you to.

So, I got the book and I had enough time to read it. I started with the process discovering that I was getting really deep in the pages of the book. Sometimes I could see myself and sometimes I just couldn’t believe what things he had to go through on his process. The book gave me a clear idea that all you need to get a job done is have a strong dedication on your work and willingness on yourself to keep on going further every. There will be challenges and there will be hell lot of them but you need not to step down. You need to keep on trying more and have that enthusiasm in yourself that you can do it. There’s nothing you can’t go beyond. Sky is the only limit and sometimes, you might even explore above it. Boundaries will be there everywhere but there need to be motivation within you to jump from those boundaries until you reach the next one and there will be boundaries everywhere and you’ll just have to keep on trying your best to jump. Limitations keep on coming but as you keep on going beyond them, there will be a day when you’ll be free of them for once and forever.

Deferred: My Extraordinary Journey to The New York University of Abu Dhabi is a book written by Michael Ttappous and its a book I would recommend each and everyone to read, especially to those who are planning to pursue their higher studies abroad. As you go through pages, you’ll discover that the application process is not that easy. There will be things that are pretty messed up and there will be processes that will exhaust you and make you hopeless. Writing the application essay is not the only thing you need to do to apply to a university. There are lot more and reading this book, you’ll know the hardship you might have to go through. Without doubt, no one will have to suffer what Michael had to go through but there’s no way that your process with be very easy. There will be difficulties and you need to know that you will be able to solve it.

Note: I am in not way, associated with promotion of this book, The book is written by a friend of mine and I want people to read it. That’s why I am keeping the link here. Other words above are purely from the bottom of my heart are my own thoughts. One thing is for sure that the book is worth the 5$ you’ll spend on it.

Leave a Reply

